Bureau of Indian Standards

Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) is the National Standard Body of India established under the BIS Act 2016 for the harmonious development of the activities of standardization, marking and quality certification of goods and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto in India.

BIS is involved in various activities mainly Standards Formulation, Product certification and registration schemes, laboratory recognition schemes, hallmarking schemes etc.

Two important Conformity assessment schemes of BIS are Scheme-I (ISI mark scheme) and Scheme-II (Compulsory Registration Scheme). Both these schemes are covered under Bureau of Indian Standards (Conformity Assessment) Regulations, 2018.

Please click here for the BIS’s detailed regulation.

Scheme-I (ISI mark scheme)

UUnder this scheme licensee (manufacturer) is to use or apply a Standard Mark ISI granted by the Bureau of Indian Standards for products manufactured in a manufacturing premises and conforming to all the requirements of the relevant Indian Standard(s).

Please click here for the list of the products covered under Scheme-I (ISI mark scheme).

Scheme-II (Compulsory Registration Scheme)

This scheme is mainly governed by following 02 orders:

  • “Electronics and Information Technology Goods (Requirement for Compulsory Registration) Order, 2012” issued by the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology.
  • Solar Photovoltaics, Systems, Devices and Components Goods (Requirements for Compulsory Registration) Order, 2017” issued by the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy.

As per these Orders, no person shall manufacture or store for sale, import, sell or distribute goods which do not conform to the specified Indian Standards. Manufacturers of these products are required to apply for registration from Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) after getting their product tested from BIS recognized labs in India.

BIS registers the manufacturers under Scheme-II, who are permitted to declare that their articles conform to the Indian Standard (s).

The registered manufacturers are then allowed to use the Standard Mark IS notified by the Bureau.

Please click here for the list of the products covered under Scheme-II (Compulsory Registration Scheme).